Frank Talk: State of My Patreon

This forum is for general discussion and open to all. If there is anything you wish to talk about with the Chosen then this is the place to do it. Please limit the use of this forum to out of character discussions. For in character roleplaying please use the Free Form Roleplaying forum.

Moderators: Shir'le E. Illios, Bhaern Quel

Leema Har'gachi
Regular

Frank Talk: State of My Patreon

Post by Leema Har'gachi »

State of My Patreon

Hello, I’m Loren Deerwester also known as Ultimatewkar on Deviantart.com I am an artist and game developer, and I think it is about time I talk about the state of my patreon as well as the state of the projects I’ve been working on. As my patrons know I have been working on a Tabletop Role Playing Game for a long while now and I’ve made a lot of progress on it over the course of the last two years, unfortunately its at a state now that it is going to cause me to have to make some decisions on what to do with my patreon. You see, when I started my patreon over four years ago I had started it with the idea that I would focus on using my art skills to make money to support me, while I worked on my game with the hopes that once I got it far enough along, I could publish content on my patreon and expand my revenue while working on finishing up the projects for the game. Something like a early release, or beta/preview pipeline. About halfway through last year, I felt that I had reached enough on the development of my game that it was time. This actually why I started my twitter and started post my RPG content on my patreon, to actually try to expand not only the amount of patrons interested in my art, but also expand peoples interest in my game. While it has had some success, my average number of month patrons jumped up from 5 to around 10, however it also hasn’t been as effective or increased interest as much as is need. Worse still, last month (January) I produced and published more content in a single mont